Rajkot City
સોમવાર ૨૫ સપ્‍ટેમ્‍બર, ૨૦૨૩ વિક્રમ સંવત ૨૦૭૯
  સૂર્યોદય 06:26
સૂર્યાસ્ત 18:26
About India

Past Prime Minister Of India

The Prime Minister of India, as addressed to in the Constitution of India, is the chief of government, chief advisor to the President of India, head of the Council of Ministers and the leader of the majority party in parliament. The prime minister leads the executive branch of the Government of India.

The prime minister is the senior member of cabinet in the executive branch of government in a parliamentary system. The prime minister selects and can dismiss other members of the cabinet; allocates posts to members within the Government; is the presiding member and chairman of the cabinet and is responsible for bringing proposal of legislation. The resignation or death of the prime minister dissolves the cabinet.

Photo Name Tenure
Jawaharlal Nehru 1.
Shri Jawaharlal Nehru
August 15, 1947 to
May 27, 1964
Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri 2.
Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri
June 9, 1964 to
January 11, 1966
Shrimati Indira Gandhi 3.
Shrimati Indira Gandhi
January 24, 1966 to
March 24, 1977
Shri Morarji Desai 4.
Shri Morarji Desai
March 24, 1977 to
July 28, 1979
Shri Charan Singh 5.
Shri Charan Singh6.
July 28, 1979 to
January 14, 1980
Shrimati Indira Gandhi 6.
Shrimati Indira Gandhi
January 14, 1980 to
October 31, 1984
Shri Rajiv Gandhi 7.
Shri Rajiv Gandhi
October 31, 1984 to
December 1, 1989
Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh 8.
Shri Vishwanath Pratap Singh
December 2, 1989 to
November 10, 1990
Shri Chandra Shekhar 9.
Shri Chandra Shekhar
November 10, 1990 to
June 21, 1991
Shri P. V. Narasimha Rao 10.
Shri P. V. Narasimha Rao
June 21, 1991 to
May 16, 1996
Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee 11.
Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee
May 16, 1996 to
1 June 1996
Shri H. D. Deve Gowda 12.
Shri H. D. Deve Gowda
1 June 1996 to
12 April 1997
Shri Inder Kumar Gujral 13.
Shri Inder Kumar Gujral
21 April 1997 to
19 Mar 1998
Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee 14.
Shri Atal Behari Vajpayee
19 Mar 1998 to
22 May 2004
Dr. Manmohan Singh 15.
Dr. Manmohan Singh
22 May 2004 to
26 May 2014
Narendra Modi 16.
Narendra Modi
26 May 2014 to
parliament of india, Delhi, India
parliament of india, Delhi, India
parliament of india, Delhi, India
parliament of india, Delhi, India
Website Using CSS3 | Best Viewed in IE 9+, Mozilla 3.5+, Chrome 4.1+, Opera 10.5+
NOTE : This Information is collected from different kind of websites / sources. RajkotCity.Info refuse to accept any claim of loss and or liability by the user of this site. The user of this site is advice to make use of this site at his or her risk. All other logos are trademarks of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2015, RajkotCity.Info, Allright Reserved.